Kolkata



Gazette

Extraordinary
Published by Authority

AGRAHAYANA 15]

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2018

[SAKA 1940

PART I—Orders and Notifications by the Governor of West Bengal, the High Court, Government Treasury, etc.

GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL DEPARTMENT OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT & MUNICIPALAFFAIRS (MUNICIPALAFFAIRS BRANCH) DF-8, SECTOR-I, SALT LAKE, KOLKATA-700 064

NOTIFICATION

No. 868/MA/O/C-4/1E-1/2008 (Pt-I)

Dated, Kolkata, the 6th day of December, 2018

WHEREAS in terms of provisions of sub-section (2) of section 14 of the West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 (West Ben. Act XXII of 1993) (hereinafter referred to as the said Act) the Board of Councillors, unless dissolved earlier, shall hold office for a period of five years from the date appointed for its first meeting after the general election and no longer;

AND WHEREAS the first meeting of the Board of Councillors of the Urban Local Bodies mentioned in column (I) of the Table Below (hereinafter referred to as the said Table) in the district mentioned in column (II) of the said Table against each Urban Local Body, after the last Municipal General Election to the said Urban Local Bodies, were held on the respective dates mentioned in column (III) of the said Table against each Urban Local Body;

AND WHEREAS it is not possible to hold the general election to the said Urban Local Bodies before the expiry of the period of five years specified in sub-section (2) of section 14 of the said Act and in terms of provisions of sub-section (4) of section 14 of the said Act the Board of Councillors of the said Urban Local Bodies shall stand dissolved after expiry of its term on the respective dates mentioned in column (IV) of the said Table against each Urban Local Body;

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the power conferred by sub-section (4) of section 14 of the said Act, the Governor is pleased hereby to appoint the Officers mentioned in column (V) of the said Table against each Urban Local Body as the Administrator of the respective Urban Local Body with effect from the dates mentioned in column (VI) of the said Table against each Urban Local Body, till the new Board of Councillors of the said Urban Local Body takes over charge after the election to be held or until further orders, whichever is earlier:

TABLE

Name of Municipality	District	Date of 1st meeting after last election	Date of expiry of present Board of Councillors	Official to be appointed as the Administrator	With effect from
(1)	(II)	(III)	(IV)	(V)	(VI)
(I) Berhampore Municipality	Murshidabad	13.12.2013	12.12.2018	Sub-divisional Officer, Berhampore Sadar	13.12.2018
(2) Krishnanagar Municipality	Nadia	13.12.2013	12.12.2018	Sub-divisional Officer, Krishnanagar Sadar	13.12.2018
(3) Medinipur Municipality	Paschim Medinipur	16.12.2013	15.12.2018	Sub-divisional Officer, Medinipur Sadar	16.12.2018
(4) Jhargram Municipality	Jhargram	18.12.2013	17.12.2018	Sub-divisional Officer, Jhargram	18.12.2018

By order of the Governor,

S. DAS

Joint Secretary to the Govt. of West Bengal.